Brian Shailer

Combined clubs toast golf success
Clubs of Marlborough members toasted two of their own when the national clubs golf championships were decided last week.

Golf 01
(L-R) Allan McIntyre (Blenheim Golf Club) and Ian Hale (Rarangi Golf Club) won the Pen Hawkins Rosebowl for the Marlborough Combined Clubs in Tokoroa.

Playing against golfers from 34 North Island and eight South Island clubs at Tokoroa Cosmopolitan The TrophyClub, Ian Hale and Allan McIntyre took home the Pen Hawkins Rosebowl from the tournament for members of golf and workingmens clubs.The duo were tied for the lead with Hamilton Cosmopolitan Club after 36 holes of the 54-hole nett tournament on 157. However, they pulled away on the final day to win by three strokes.”We played pretty well. We hit the ball well and didn’t make too many mistakes,” Hale, a Rarangi Golf Club member, said.Blenheim club player McIntyre played off a 19 handicap while Hale was in such good form he saw his handicap, which started the tournament at 10, cut to nine by the final day of play.Hale said the result was a pleasing performance after the duo placed fourth in the same tournament last year in Nelson.They qualified to represent Marlborough from a field of 48 local golfers with McIntyre the top qualifier and Hale second, the reverse of last year’s finish.Coming back to Marlborough was an appropriate return for the Pen Hawkins Rosebowl.Hawkins was a keen and accomplished golfer from the Kamo Workingmens Club who played in a Christmas tournament at the Picton Club in 1979 with Blenheim Workingmens Club member Jack Cassidy.The duo discussed submitting a remit at the National Charted Clubs Conference to create a new golf tournament.Despite scepticism from some of the larger clubs, the remit was passed and the BWMC formed a national committee to set up the tournament with Cassidy as chairman.

Executive members included Darcy Oliver, Barry Ford, Alistair McLaughlin, Pani Swann, Geoff Domigan, Alan Swan, Hugh Rennie and John Rocks.Sadly Hawkins passed away before the inaugural tournament took place, with the winners’ trophy being named in his memory.Last week’s competition was the first time the trophy has been won by a Marlborough combination.